



## QAAFI Health, Safety and Wellness Committee Terms of Reference

## 1. <u>Purpose</u>

The primary functions of the QAAFI HSW Committee are to:

- promote and facilitate consultation and cooperation between staff, students, and management in instigating, developing, and carrying out measures designed to ensure health and safety at work for all; and
- assist in developing and implementing HSW policy, procedures, guidelines, and programs at UQ.

The full operational procedure for HSW Committee meetings is defined in the <u>UQ policy</u> 2.10.01.

## 2. Membership

Representation of QAAFI Management:

- QAAFI Director (Chair)
- Health, Safety and Facilities Manager
- Director, Centre for Horticultural Science
- Director, Centre for Crop Science
- Director, Centre for Nutrition and Food Sciences
- Director, Centre for Animal Science
- Operations Manager
- Facilities and Infrastructure Manager
- Safety and Compliance Coordinator
- Principal Health, Safety and Facility Coordinator
- UQ Health, Safety and Wellness Division Representative

Representation of Health and Safety Representatives (HSR) and workers from the following locations/groups:

- Hartley Teakle (Labs) Staff
- Hartley Teakle (Labs) Student
- Hartley Teakle (Offices) Staff/Student
- John Hines Staff/Student
- QBP L2 Staff
- QBP L3 Staff
- QBP L3 Student
- EcoScience Precinct East Staff/Student
- EcoScience Precinct West Staff/Student
- Coopers Plains Staff/Student
- Gatton Staff
- Gatton Student
- Warwick Staff
- Warwick Student
- Toowoomba Leslie Staff/Student
- Long Pocket Staff
- Long Pocket Student





Committee members should assign a delegate if they are unable to attend. HSR training is required for elected HSR (Work Health and Safety Act 2011, Division 2; s50, <u>Health and safety representatives</u>).

## 3. <u>Agenda</u>

Matters to be incorporated into the agenda (as appropriate) include:

- HSW Management Plan
- Incident reports and investigations
- Hazard reports
- Proposed significant workplace changes
- Proposed significant plant and equipment purchases
- New/reviewed HSW Policies, Procedures and Guidelines
- HSW audit and inspection program
- HSW communications (including 'Incident Alerts' and 'Safety Notices')
- Reports from HSW Division
- Reports from associated HSW committees and relevant sub-committees.

#### 4. Meeting duration and frequency

H&S meetings should meet at least every three months and at any reasonable time at the request of at least half the members.

#### 5. Communication

Members are expected to gather any concerns, issues, questions from the staff/students they represent prior to the meeting and to communicate relevant information back them.

The QAAFI Safety and Compliance Coordinator acts as secretary, taking minutes during the meeting. Information regarding the HSW Committee will be distributed by QAAFI HSF or QAAFI Institute Director Executive Assistant to a mailing list of current members.

Members will receive:

- Meeting requests
- Minutes from meetings
- Agenda for upcoming meetings
- Any other documentation relevant to discussion points





# QAAFI Health and Safety Committee Membership

| Name               | Committee Position                                | QAAFI Position   | Organisation    |  |
|--------------------|---|--|-----------------|--|
| Bernadine Flanagan | Hartley Teakle (Labs) – Staff                     | Research Fellow  | CNAFS – Staff   |  |
| Xinle Tan          | Hartley Teakle (Labs) – Student                   | HDR Student  | CNAFS – Student |  |
| Sera Susan Jacob   | Hartley Teakle (Labs) – Student                   | HDR Student  | CNAFS – Student |  |
| Samir Alahmad      | Hartley Teakle (Offices) –<br>Staff/Student       | Research Fellow  | CCS – Staff     |  |
| Belinda Worland    | John Hines – Staff/Student                        | Senior Research<br>Assistant                           | CCS – Staff     |  |
| Cameron Doig       | QBP L2 – Staff                                    | Research<br>Partnerships Officer                       | QAAFI – Staff   |  |
| Tony Cavallaro     | QBP L3 – Staff                                    | Research Assistant                                     | CAS – Staff     |  |
| Yunjia Yang        | QBP L3 – Student                                  | HDR Student  | CHS – Student   |  |
| Cecilia O'Dwyer    | EcoScience Precinct East –<br>Staff/Student       | Research Assistant                                     | CHS – Staff     |  |
| Megan Vance        | EcoScience Precinct East –<br>Staff/Student       | Postdoctoral<br>Research Fellow                        | CHS – Staff     |  |
| Conny Turni        | EcoScience Precinct West –<br>Staff/Student       | Senior Research<br>Fellow                              | CAS – Staff     |  |
| Natasha Hungerford | Coopers Plains – Staff/Student                    | Post Doc   | CAS – Staff     |  |
| Robert Armstrong   | Gatton – Staff                                    | Research Fellow  | CCS – Staff     |  |
| Karen Eyre         | Gatton – Staff                                    | Research Scientist                                     | CAS – Staff     |  |
| Lipy Adhikari      | Gatton – Student                                  | HDR Student  | CCS – Student   |  |
| Cassie Martinez    | Warwick – Staff                                   | Administrative Officer                                 | CCS – Staff     |  |
| Daniel Otwani      | Warwick – Student                                 | Student  | CCS – Student   |  |
| Karine Chenu       | Toowoomba Leslie –<br>Staff/Student               | Principal Research<br>Fellow                           | CCS – Staff     |  |
| Madeleine Gleeson  | Long Pocket – Staff                               | Research Assistant                                     | CHS – Staff     |  |
| Clare Wijngaarden  | Long Pocket – Student                             | HDR Student  | CNAFS – Student |  |
| Management Membe   | ers   |  |                 |  |
| Matthew Morell     | QAAFI Director (Chair)                            |  |                 |  |
| Nick Nacsa         | Health Safety and Facilities Manager              |  |                 |  |
| Neena Mitter       | Director, Centre for Horticultural Science        |  |                 |  |
| Ian Godwin         | Director, Centre for Crop Science                 |  |                 |  |
| Mike Gidley        | Director, Centre for Nutrition and Food Sciences  |  |                 |  |
| Ben Hayes          | Director, Centre for Animal Science               |  |                 |  |
| TBA                | Operations Manager                                |  |                 |  |
| Lucinda Coalter    | Facilities and Infrastructure Manager             |  |                 |  |
| Danila Elango      | Safety and Compliance Coordinator                 |  |                 |  |
| •                  | Principal Health, Safety and Facility Coordinator |  |                 |  |
| Fanny Lombard      | FILLENAL LEAKLY OLEVAILU AUU                      | UQ Health, Safety and Wellness Division Representative |                 |  |